Friends #2 and #3: Heidi and Margaret

After lunching in San Lucas, I headed east on Highway 198 through central California.  So beautiful!  I ended up in Lindsay, CA, south of Visalia, to have dinner at the home of the Heredia family.  I met them all at a conference 4 years ago, and I’ve seen Heidi since, but haven’t seen her parents, and I got to meet her sister.  Their hospitality was incredible as they welcomed me, fed me, and filled me in on the goings on of the past 4 years.  All in the midst of Margaret having pacemaker surgery on Thursday!  This family is SO generous and they are an example to me of how to be givers.  We sat on the back porch and laughed as the sun went down as I had a dancing contest with the two-year-old nephew/grandson at the dinner table.  I fed the family’s horse (very different from how I began the day in traffic on the 405 freeway in LA); we watched baby frogs jump all over the lawn.  It was as easy as coming home.  I was exhausted by the time I got there, but left feeling refreshed.  I hope that there are moments that I can be what they were to me to weary souls.

Leave a Reply

