Week 2 Reflection: A Visual Journal

So there have been some spectacular drives on this journey, especially this past week.  I have been doing in this second week what I set out to do in the reflections from the first week, which is think less and stop more.  The lovely vistas and scenery compelled me to take a moment and breathe it in.  In my haste to share with you the stories of my family and friends, I have neglected to share with you some of the images of beauty that will be etched in my memory (and thankfully, some if my computer’s memory, too).  I’m waiting for someone to invent a device where you can touch somewhere on your temple or forehead, and it would take a picture of exactly what your eyeballs are perceiving.  A little scary, I know, but there have been moments where I wish I could share these images, they have so captured me.

From St. George, Utah to Phoenix, Arizona, I took a two-lane highway rather than the interstate and ended up passing near Zion National Park and the Grand Canyon.  I felt like I was in Star Wars, then Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade.  You’ll see these pictures first, then a black slide, followed by pictures from Phoenix, Arizona to Durango, CO.  You’ll see the “skyline” of (i.e. mountains above) Flagstaff, Arizona, colorful striped sand mounds, Monument Valley, a town called Red Mesa (see if you can find it), Four Corners (I’m in 4 states at once!) and a drastic change from desert to greenery.  The sunset over the mountain was taken in Durango, and what follows that shot is the journey from Durango to Denver, which is definitely the most spectacular drive I have driven over Red Mountain Pass and down to wide ranches set between snow-capped peaks.

While I’ve been driving, I’ve been listening to a lot of music and podcasts.  Katie Herzig has really been moving me, both to fun and joy, reflection and sadness.  I love a good cry at 80 mph!  Also, my favorite band, Over the Rhine, is a mainstay.  Also popping up when I choose to shuffle: Ladysmith Black Mambazo, the Soweto Gospel Choir, Ben Harper and the Blind Boys of Alabama, James Taylor, Emmylou Harris, Ralph Stanley, and a plethora of others.  So turn on some good tunes, and enjoy thumbing through the images.  Perhaps in so doing, I will pass some of my thinking and reflecting time onto you.  May it be a little quiet moment to ponder your smallness in the great big beautiful world.  Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Response

  1. Good music! I saw Ladysmith Black Mambazo in Houston this past winter. 🙂 I’m enjoying the updates on our mutual friends. Thanks for consistently posting.

Leave a Reply

