Friend #187: Melissa

Friend #187: Melissa
Date and Location of Visit: Sunday, October 23, 2011, Feed, Chicago, IL
Known from: My former coworker’s sister
Last seen: 2005

Melissa is the younger sister of my coworker Lisa from my first job after college.  Lisa and I worked with girls in lock-up outside Detroit.  Melissa and I met through Lisa and shared a common love for good art, good humor, and spirituality.  Melissa and I met on my Phase 2 jaunt through Chicago at Feed, where Carly and I had met during the summer.  It was great to catch up with Melissa, who is walking through a detoxifying transition in her life.  It can be a tough job to find healthy people to be around, and Melissa is showing a lot of courage to be taking steps in that direction.  And she’s doing it with her trademark outspoken authenticity and sense of humor.

I might as well give a shout-out to Lisa, too, who I saw over the summer in Ann Arbor.  Lisa is not on Facebook.  Her husband Ryan is, but he was out of town, so I got together with Lisa and her two sons, one of whom was half asleep for this picture.  Lisa went on from our job to get a Ph.D. She now counsels children, as well as running a business with her husband called TherapyCharts.  It’s a computer-based documentation system for clinicians, designed out of Lisa’s own work and needs.  Ryan was off promoting their wares at a conference in Washington, D.C.  I was excited to get to meet the boys and see Lisa as a mom.

Leave a Reply

