What’s the Worst that Could Happen?

I have been incredibly fortunate to have had minimal problems in my 24,550 miles on the road thus far.  My car broke down in Kenosha, Wisconsin over the summer.  I needed a new radiator in West Lafayette, Indiana this fall.  And then, perhaps the worst thing happened the other night.  I was in a gentrifying neighborhood of Washington, DC.  I remembered to cover all the stuff in my back seat with a towel.  But I forgot to take another critical step to secure my belongings.

The morning of New Year’s Eve, it was a beautiful morning in DC.  My friend had gotten a text saying it was like the opening sequence of The Sound of Music outside.  Excited to get a glimpse of it, we flung open the front door singing, “The hills are ali– oh *&X$@!”  Lil’ Blue’s window had been smashed in.  I had forgotten to take my GPS off the windshield, and someone decided they wanted it.

So that’s the bad news.  But the good news?  Even though my car was full of a good portion of my earthly belongings (thankfully my computer was in the apartment with me), they only took my GPS.  I still have a GPS on my smartphone, so I can still navigate all the unknown places I visit.  Using one of those mobile services, my window was fixed on site for under $200 less than 5 hours after we discovered it.  And given that it was such a beautiful day, it was actually quite pleasant not to have a window!

So I guess this is the worst thing that’s happened on the trip thus far, in terms of the car or safety or what not.  And if this is the worst that could happen, I still have a pretty awesome life.  I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions, but I have to say that gratitude is a pretty powerful weapon, and I’d like to wield it a bit more in 2012.  Because if I do, what’s the worst that could happen?

One Response

  1. Oooh, that sucks Ann! Glad you are okay, and that all they got was the GPS. Cat and I were once victims of a car break-in/attempted theft in Chicago’s Chinatown. So I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

