Friend #194: Megan

Friend #194: Megan
Date and Location of Visit: Thursday, October 27, 2011, MadCap Coffee Company, Grand Rapids, MI
Known from: My best friend’s wedding
Last seen: 2002?

Megan is the little sister of my best friend’s husband, Dave, and of Facebook friend #186, Daniel.  She and I met when we were both bridesmaids in Dave’s wedding, and have been in touch off and on ever since.  Having grown up in northern Michigan and attended Michigan State, Megan now lives in Grand Rapids.  She was the perfect person to kick off my visits there with.  Having only lived in the city a short time, she knows a lot about it and was excited to show it off.  From the great coffee shop where we met, to the festivals she told me about, to our walk around town where she told me about many of the local landmarks, Megan oozed hospitality in such a lovely way.  Our explorations of the city eventually landed us at the “Visualize” mural:

This work of art was an entry into an annual arts festival which literally takes over the city as many entries are outdoor installations.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get a picture with Megan, so this will be my visual reminder of my beautiful welcome into the city.

To see a bit more of Grand Rapids and enjoy some communal creativity, check out this video:

Leave a Reply

