480 Friends in 480 Days and 45,000 Miles

Welcome to my webpage chronicling an incredible journey.  I took a road trip to visit my Facebook friends in person, seeing 480 friends in 480 days (from June 13, 2011 to October 5, 2012) and driving over 45,000 miles.  From my home base of Los Angeles, I drove to New Hampshire and back again.  I saw people from elementary school, high school, college, grad school.  The longest I’d gone since seeing someone was 25 years.  There were sweet reunions, a few painful breakups, and only one awkward visit.  Sitting down and visiting with people I would only otherwise interact with online changed me.  It changed the way that I use social media, it changed my understanding of humanity and generosity and courage.  In short, it changed my life.

What you’ll find on this blog is a chronicle of about 100 of the 480 visits.  I am working on further reflections to be compiled into a non-fiction book.

I am so grateful to everyone who hosted me, fed me, sponsored me, and visited with me.  This trip is one of the best things I have ever done, and I couldn’t have done it without people to visit.  I was inspired by the everyday courage and vulnerability that my friends showed me.  I’ll never forget it.

 

Leave a Reply

